Music is Medicine

Music has always been a large part of my life. I remember dancing in the living room to bands like Journey, Eric Clapton, Led Zeppelin and other classic rock artists as a little girl. I received my love for music from my dad and although our taste in music differs somewhat, I am so thankful that he introduced me to the therapy that music provides. One of the lyrics in a Black Eyed Peas song says:

“Music is my medicine…”

I can identify with the lyric since I almost always turn to music when I am feeling down, angry, emotional or even tired. I listened to Likin Park (loudly) after my heart was broken, when I feel tired while driving nothing helps more than singing loudly to an upbeat tune, when I need a good cry listening to an emotional song helps to get the feelings out. Music is medicine (for me at least)

Earlier this year I attended a talk on health and wellness and the speaker Catherine van Heerden began the session by playing her song of the year. I really thought this was an interesting idea; choosing a song for your year. Although I did not purposely choose a song for 2016, Rise by Katy Perry became my song for the year as 2016 was a very rough year for me personally and in my career.

 

Thus, I decided to choose a song for the year, every year, it would be the theme of my year. Choosing a song was harder than I thought, here are a few tips in selecting your song of the year:

  1. The lyrics need to hold some meaning to you, it needs to be inspirational.
  2. The song needs to be one that you won’t get tired of after a month, you are probably going to listen to this song several times during the year. Catherine van Heerden listens to her song every day. Personally, I get bored easily so I will not be able to listen to the same song every day, but I chose a song that when I listen to it, I will still enjoy it (I hope)
  3. Preferably, the song needs to be a bit upbeat. A ballad or sad song might not have the same effect on days you need a pick-me-up

After some research, I found my song for 2017, my favorite part of the song is this lyric:

I’m free to be the greatest, I’m alive

Although the video is quite strange, they lyrics are what I would like to believe for 2017 – I am free to be the greatest (in everything that I will take on in 2017) I am alive (what a blessing to wake up every day and do what I love)

I want to encourage you to find a song for 2017 which when you listen to it you feel inspired, energized and ready for any challenge. I hope that you find solace and inspiration in the music that you listen to and that you will too consider music to be your medicine.

“Music… will help dissolve your perplexities and purify your character and sensibilities, and in time of care and sorrow, will keep a fountain of joy alive in you.”
Dietrich Bonhoeffer

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. laetitiabarnard says:

    Thanks for the inspirational post and always being someone I go to for advice and motivation!
    Always keep your sparkle and be the special person you are. You are awesome 🙂
    Lovies

    Like

    1. moeksiemoeks says:

      I am blessed to be part of your live .
      xx

      Like

      1. becomeing says:

        And I am blessed to have you as my mother

        Like

    2. becomeing says:

      Thank you for the lovely words. You are the best

      Like

Leave a Reply

