I am my own worst enemy

on

It has been exactly a month since I have posted anything on my blog. I was feeling uninspired and life got in the way. It is easy to make excuses to why you can’t do something, whether it is writing a blog post, doing chores, reaching a goal you set for yourself or just sending a text to a friend whom you have been meaning to contact. Life is hectic right? Not really, you might only be telling yourself that and by doing so you are getting in your own way.

I have been on a rollercoaster of a journey this past year and while there have been great ups and not so great downs, I realised that I am my own worst enemy. I allow myself to get stuck in a rut, I allow myself to not get up and do something on my to-do list. Although I understand (since I have been through it as well) that depression is a serious matter where you just can’t get yourself out of a rut, this post is for those who do not suffer from depression. Now, I am not saying that everything is in your control, because we live in a very broken and cruel world where other people’s choices affect your life and where you can’t control every aspect of your life, but here is the trick to living a positive life —> you can control how you react to it!

Sounds simple enough right? I have found that if I practice the principle of PAUSE, where I take a step back and pause before I react, that my emotions are likely to be less erratic and I am calmer in my response. I am still struggling with not reacting the moment I experience something, but taking my time to work through and process what just happened. It seems that the closeted introvert in me wants to come out more than she has before. Sometimes you need to get just perspective, take a walk, listen to some music, meditate, pray or talk to a friend. I am still amazed by the wonders of just getting your feelings out when talking to God or a friend.

Here are the 3 P’s for when you are feeling stuck or uninspired:

Pause – do not respond immediately, take your time to process the information 

Pray – talk to God about it, and if you are not a religious person, talk to a close friend. There is something magical about getting all your feelings out. 

Perspective – remove yourself from the situation, do something different and forget about the issue for a while. 

three p's

In a previous post about music, I wrote about my song of the year. I recently listened to the song for the first time in a while and although my initial reason for choosing this song was to speak life in the year of 2017, the lyrics held a different meaning for me during this phase of my journey, here is the first part of the song:

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I
Oh, I, I got stamina
Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes
Well, oh, I got stamina
And uh-oh, I see another mountain to climb
But I, I, I got stamina

Significant right? I’d like to think so! So go on climb that mountain, whether it is changing a job you hate, getting out of an abusive relationship, starting a novel, doing chores around the house or reaching for your weight loss goal. You have stamina, you are the greatest YOU there will ever be. Listen to the song as loud as you can

 

Untill next time

Be awesome, Be kind, Be YOU!

“The best thing you can do is master the chaos in you. You are not thrown into the fire. You are the fire!” Mama Indigo

One Comment Add yours

  1. laetitiabarnard says:

    Thank you for this post! I know that I’m my own worst enemy as well.. Thanks for always giving afresh perspective on things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

